top of page

Christmas Lights around Kentucky

Today I’m sharing some traditions my family has always shared in together since I was a little girl, Christmas Lights around Kentucky. I have grown up driving around town at Christmas time and looking at all of the lights on display. The shopping mall’s would decorate with villages and characters as well, but not anymore, and I would love to watch everything move and light up when I was little.


Christmas light around Kentucky

Now that I have children I wanted to share this tradition with them as well. This was a new tradition for my husband when we got married, he never did anything like this growing up, and now he loves it too.

Today I want to share our favorite places to see Christmas lights on display around our state of Kentucky. If you are near Kentucky you will want to be sure and see these displays, they do not disappoint.

Christmas Lights Around Kentucky


– This attraction is different from any other light show you will ever attend. It is located in underground caverns that are burrowed under the city of Louisville. We love to drive our car through these tunnels and watch the themed light show accompanied with music. They have all of your kiddos favorite characters and more.  You can usually buy a Groupon to lower the cost. This is top on our list to visit every year.


: Freeman Lake Park has a free light display in Elizabethtown KY. It is so pretty, and free. They do ask for donations but that is given in a box at the end of the drive. The lights on display are sponsored and provided by local businesses in the area. The entire park is decorated. You will slowly drive one-way with your lights off. They have a radio station you can tune into while you drive through the park. We make an evening of this trip and stop at a restaurant and eat dinner, then after the lights stop and get a milk shake. My kids love it!


– My grandmother lived in this neighborhood and I feel like Mile of Sunshine was my second home growing up. There is an amazing court of homes in this neighborhood that lights the entire court up with lights and music. Papa John’s Pizza is a sponsor of them as well. They collect money for the Home of the Innocents and have raised an amazing amount of money. The homes are decked out with lights synced with music, a real Santa on scheduled nights, video screens of Santa and more. My kids are mesmerized at this display. We park and get to walk the court so we can see everything. It truly is amazing, and the people who set this up every year are super talented. This display is a must!


: This is more than a light display, it is art. Every year there is a new theme and they have tons for the kids. There are shows, crafts, characters, and more. The KaLightoscope show is amazing though. I don’t really know how to explain it so here are a few pictured from last year when we went.


KaLightoscope Collage

What are some of your favorite light displays around your city? If you liked this post and want to read about more Christmas posts check out the iHomeschool Network 5 Days of Christmas Hopscotch.

This is a fun and easy way to find posts related to a common topic in one place. I hope you enjoy this hopscotch as much as I do.

I will be sharing about 5 Days of Christmas Family Traditions that my family shares in each year. Some of these posts may pertain to my local area, but you more than likely will have some of these same activities in your community.

Have a great Christmas!


5 days hopscotch

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page