top of page

I Want a Temporary Separation from my Family

Let’s be honest here, If you have never wanted a temporary separation from your family your lying. Yes, lying.

As a mom of four kids I have on many occasions dreamed of a week away from my family, the entire family. I want to be on a beach under my umbrella with my book (not about parenting or marriage), and sit with my drink and lunch, and I do not want to talk to anyone. I then want to go to my room and binge watch Netflix.


I Want a Temporary Separation from my Family, 7 ideas of Separation for Moms.

Can you relate?

Do you need a beach trip?

But as a mom the trip I desire most likely will NEVER happen. Those trips are dreams, yes dreams. Unless you have a huge network of childcare providers that will volunteer to babysit your precious well-behaved children for a week good luck, let’s not even talk about the cost of a trip. You know your husband is saying “if your spending that much money on a trip I’m going too”, so forget about it. Ha.

So what can we do as moms to achieve a temporary separation from our family.  This is list of ideas I have come up with and will most likely try to achieve in the next few months so I don’t go crazy.

Truth.


smiley-vector-illustration-tongue-out_m1bRTb

Ideas:

  1. Get a hotel room in your city for the night to just be alone. No guilt. We all need it.

  2. Go to the YMCA everyday for 3 hours, drop your kids off in childcare and hang out doing what you want to do.

  3. Secretly hint to your husband you need a break, well maybe not secretly, some husbands won’t understand unless you spell out every detail to them, they are men they need details. Tell him what you need and put it on the calendar.

  4. Go to a movie alone.

  5. Go to a women’s retreat with some girlfriends.

  6. Go to a concert with a friend.

  7. Go to the theater and enjoy a drama production that you have always wanted to see, the one your husband would have no idea what is going on, but you’ve read the book and you get every scene.

Find something YOU like to do ALONE and do it.

As a mom we all need mental breaks from the crazy normal. Crazy normal can make us feel like we are the ones that are insane and we need a visit to the local mental hospital, it sounds like a vacation, really.

I am writing this post as I desperately need a mommy break, so please forgive me if I sound like I do not appreciate my family, or I have no love left for them, but that is simply not true. I love them dearly, I really do.  You can’t go through a life changing event  and not appreciate every moment with your loved ones.

I just need a break, do you?

As a mom though we have to remember we are human and our tanks run on empty. EMPTY.

We are human.

Even Jesus had to go into the garden ALONE to pray. He is our example, He needed alone time and so do we.

What is your favorite way to get a temporary separation from your family?


I Want a Temporary Separation from my Family, 7 ideas of Separation for Moms.

0 views0 comments
bottom of page